House GOP Leadership Policy Working Groups Announced

House Majority Floor Leader Jon Echols Tuesday announced co-leaders of the House Republican Leadership Policy Working Groups, created to begin developing conservative policy proposals that reduce government waste and increase efficiencies in spending, enhance personal freedom and grow economic opportunities for Oklahomans.

Leader Echols created the groups last month to develop an innovative and conservative policy agenda for implementation during the 2018 legislative session. Echols said he believes using a “co-leader” structure rather than “chair” structure will help increase collaboration among the group members.

“The hope is that co-leaders will facilitate discussion and encourage participation and ideas from the members,” said Echols. “There is a lot of work to do before December, so we want members to be engaged from the beginning so our time is efficient. Our goal is to develop policy ideas that innovate the way we develop and deliver government services to our citizens.”


There are seven working groups:


Agency, Board and Commission Consolidation and Efficiency:

Rep. Josh Cockroft (R-Wanette), Co-Leader

Rep. Mike Osburn (R-Edmond), Co-Leader


Business Development, Commerce and Regulatory Environment:

Rep. Elise Hall (R-Oklahoma City), Co-Leader

Rep. Scott Fetgatter (R-Okmulgee), Co-Leader

Rep. Casey Murdock (R-Felt), Co-Leader


Budget Reform:

Rep. Kevin Wallace (R-Wellston), Co-Leader

Rep. Terry O’Donnell (R-Tulsa), Co-Leader

Rep. Earl Sears (R-Bartlesville), Co-Leader


Education Support and Reform:

Rep. Todd Russ (R-Cordell), Co-Leader

Rep. Michael Rogers (R-Broken Arrow), Co-Leader


Healthcare and Mental Health:

Rep. Chad Caldwell (R-Enid), Co-Leader

Rep. Marcus McEntire (R-Duncan), Co-Leader



Rep. Dustin Roberts (R-Durant), Co-Leader

Rep. Steve Vaughan (R-Ponca City), Co-Leader


Public Safety and Corrections:

Rep. Bobby Cleveland (R-Slaughterville), Co-Leader

Rep. Greg Babinec (R-Cushing), Co-Leader


The groups are expected to complete their work by December.

The policy working groups will meet monthly and are voluntary; unlike official interim studies, participating members will not be paid per diem or reimbursed for mileage for travel to the Capitol.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page


Copyright © The McCarville Report