Special Primary Elections Underway for SD 45, HD 76 Seats

Special primary elections are underway Tuesday for Senate District 45 and House District 76.

There are seven Republicans and two Democrats running for the SD 45 seat which is open due to the resignation of Senator Kyle Loveless for campaign fund violations. The two Democrats are Steven Vincent and Noah Ynclan. The seven members of the GOP vying for the nomination are Brian Walters, Paul Rosino, Duane Smith, Kerry Pettingill, Scott Harris, Diane Means and Mathew Hamrick. SD 45 runs from Mustang through south Oklahoma City and encompasses Valley Brook.

HD 76 became vacant due to the death of Rep. David Brumbaugh in April. Five Republicans and two Democrats are running for their party nominations. The Republican field includes Cliff Johns, Brian Elliott, Shelley Brumbaugh, Ross Ford and Jess Guthrie. The Democrats will choose from Chris Vanlandingham and Forrest Mayer. HD 76 runs through the Broken Arrow and Tulsa areas.

Special primary elections are “winner take all.” The candidate who receives the most votes in the primary, will move onto the special general election set for November 14.

Polls are open 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page


Copyright © The McCarville Report