Two Seats Stay Republican, One Flips Democrat in Tuesday’s Special Elections

If the unofficial vote totals hold true, it appears that Republicans held two legislative seats while the Democrats flipped one in Tuesday’s special elections.

According to the results posted by the Oklahoma State Election Board, Republican Paul Rosino defeated Democrat Steven Vincent for the Senate District 45 seat. Rosino took nearly 57 percent of the vote to win the seat left empty by the resignation of Kyle Loveless.

Republican Ross Ford won by a large margin over Democrat Chris Van Landingham for the House District 76 seat. Ford took the race with 68 percent of the vote. That seat was left empty by the untimely death of Rep. David Brumbaugh.

The Democrats appear to have scored one seat as Allison Ikley-Freeman narrowly defeated Republican Brian O’Hara for the Senate District 37 seat. That seat is being vacated by Senator Dan Newberry who is resigning for a private sector job. Ikley-Freeman won with 50.35 percent over O’Hara’s 49.65 percent vote percentage. Only 31 votes separated the two.

The Oklahoma State Election Board will certify the vote totals later this week.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page


Copyright © The McCarville Report