Fallin Declares Severe Storms State Of Emergency

Governor’s Office

Governor Fallin today declared a State of Emergency for 35 Oklahoma counties due to straight line winds, hail, flooding and tornadoes that began Tuesday.

The counties included in the declaration are: Alfalfa, Blaine, Bryan, Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Creek, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Harper, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Latimer, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Major, McClain, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pottawatomie, Stephens, Tillman, Tulsa, Washita, Woods, and Woodward.

The declaration can be amended to add additional counties if conditions warrant.

The severe storms that came through the state last night and into this morning have resulted in damage to homes, businesses and vehicles as well as numerous power outages. Damage assessments in these counties are ongoing and additional severe weather is expected for later today.

Under the Executive Order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance, should it be necessary.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page


Copyright © The McCarville Report